Book LIST

crystalparisvogue

Not too long ago I read that Crystal Renn was releasing a memoir about her life in the modeling business.  I was thrilled.  Yesterday her name was all over the newspapers with the promotion of the September 8 release date of her upcoming book entitled Hungry.  I’m on the fence in regards to the title, but I’m so excited to read her story as she’s appeared to be a fascinating young woman.

Early reviews are in and I was pleased to read one by Joan Jacobs Brumberg, an author I often read when discussing body politics in many of my classes.  She says “Crystal Renn is a high-spirited, convincing spokesperson for broadening our notions of beauty. Hungry adds a unique twist to a growing women’s chorus: even if you are young and beautiful, as Renn is, it’s best to give up the addiction to slimness for the sake of personal authenticity, social relations, intimacy, and sexual pleasure.”

I hope there’s a book tour! // See some amazing Renn scans here & before + after here.

Tags: , , , , ,

9 Responses to “Book LIST”

  1. bryna Says:

    can’t wait to read this. i love books that are written by someone who has experienced it first-hand. hope shes brutally honest!

  2. sg Says:

    we have a long book list!

  3. camera batteries Says:

    This was a really great read, I am very glad I came across your site.

  4. Phuong Says:

    Agreed. You must also keep me updated on the model documentary done by Sara Ziff.

  5. Lois Says:

    I’ve always been a fan of plus-size models! There’s a great site with many images of Crystal and other plus-size models here:

    http://www.judgmentofparis.com/

    They’re all gorgeous.

    The site’s forum also has thought-provoking discussions about body image and the media.

Leave a Reply

