Save $$$, GO THRIFTING!

082609njplthrift

njplpianobarfinal

I don’t know about you, but I’m watching what I spend my money on.   I’m so glad my birthday just passed because I was showered with lovely things I simply cannot buy myself at the moment.  I’m trying to save money and it is hard because it is not like I have that much. Even more grim is our economy and the unemployment rate, particularly in California.  I swear that every friend I have is looking for a job, worried about their  job security, trying to find a place to live or merely watching every dollar that comes out of their wallet.  I am certainly not exempt from this and I’m guessing you’re probably not either.  That’s why I think it is important we get extremely creative with the money we do have.

Thank goodness I was taught by my grandmother at a very young age about the magic of thrift stores.  Even better is when you have best friends who also love to thrift!  This past weekend – birthday weekend – Phuong and I visited our local Salvation Army in the ‘bra.  Unfortunately they were not having their buy 1 get one 1 free, but I still think we made out like bandits.

Phuong found a colorful floral silk suit which you can see it only took her a day to alter and make amazing.  As for me, I added another pair of baggy silk pants to my ever growing collection.  You can never go wrong with 100% silk.  I’m really obsessing over the comfort of silk pants right now – I wish I could wear them every day and I’m the person who never wore pants! Ever.

Do yourself a favor and visit your local thrift store.  You can also give back and donate some of your old wares.  Tax right off? Yes!

Tags: , , , ,

10 Responses to “Save $$$, GO THRIFTING!”

  1. WendyB Says:

    The floral skirt turned out great! Nice find and great alteration.

  2. phuong Says:

    yay us. My thrifted item never feels thrifted to me. After some self alteration, it never has a second hand feel. Unless you always run into luck and magic, its always hard to find something that fits you right off a used rack. Being open to alterations opens up the whole store to you!

  3. MauiSun Says:

    Lovin the outfits!!!!

  4. Valencia Lia Says:

    The floral skirt and baggy pants find is beautiful !! I always love thrifting because it saves you money and you’ll never know what you will find 🙂

  5. Noelle Says:

    Happy belated! Looks like you celebrated in style =)

Leave a Reply

