Back to the DESERT

fidesert1

njdessert3

Yesterday I received a message from the Integratron about the Perseid meteor shower coming up in a couple of weeks.  I was thrilled to say the least and immediately bought tickets when I got home.  For $35 I get to revisit the Integratron, have another sound bath, hang out under the stars and see some meteors.  I’m just so happy I have another reason to head back to the desert.

If you want to read more about the event check out The Mojave Desert Land Trust.  Their mission is to protect and save the desert’s ecosystems, scenic and cultural resources, and quality of life for residents, visitors and future generations.

As for my desert ensemble, considering it has been 100 in the day and 80 at night, I think I’ll pass on the faux fur jackets and leotards that I wore on my last visit.  I also don’t think I should do any more rock climbing in Sigerson Morrison flats.  Duh.  On a side note, has anyone stayed at the ACE HOTEL yet?

Tags: , , , , , ,

12 Responses to “Back to the DESERT”

  1. sg Says:

    that sounds amazing!

  2. Heather Says:

    I love the desert. If you have time the best chips and salsa are at a place in Indio called Arriola’s – plus the best thrift stores. 🙂 Enjoy the sky!

  3. sg Says:

    i am in love with the photo of you in the rocks. desert cave!

  4. Ava Says:

    when is it? I would love to go and see the integratron again. I went there and got a sonic bath during a calarts field trip in ’04. Amazing.

    I love aliens and Tesla, and the desert. =)

    PS: There should be some weird, cool places in 29 Palms. Probably lots of antique shops, and crazy diners. This sounds too exciting to pass up.

    • Fashion INTEL Says:

      Hello Ava! The meteor shower is 8/15 from 8 to midnight. You can read all about it on the The Mojave Desert Land Trust link I mentioned in the blog entry. Buy your tickets now before it is too late! I agree about 29 Palms – I’ll let you know if I find out about anything cool there. Also, I am sure you know this, but Joshua Tree is amazing….but it is going to be so hot!

  5. Heather Says:

    Yes! I know some great places in Indio and Coachella! Have you gone to Collectors Corner in Rancho Mirage? I promise some gems.

  6. Natalie Says:

    This sounds totally amazing!!

Leave a Reply

