Model DISCOURSE

saraziff

“But at the end of the day I used to wonder: what’s the difference between doing a shoot in your underwear for Calvin Klein and being a stripper? Obviously you are compromising yourself. How far am I willing to go? How much am I willing to show for a big fat cheque?” – Sara Ziff

The Guardian published an article this weekend that has garnered lots of attention from many of the fashion/feminist blogs I read and rightfully so.  Picture Me, a documentary which goes behind the scenes of modeling has managed to reveal an even seeder underbelly of the industry so often scrutinized.  YOU MUST READ THIS ARTICLE.  There’s so much to articulate, so I suggest you watch the trailer here and read the article.

Tags: , , , ,

12 Responses to “Model DISCOURSE”

  1. phuong Says:

    i NEED to see this.

  2. sg Says:

    yes!

  3. martine syms Says:

    you should totally host a screening. i will look out for this one locally, looks good.

  4. MauiSun Says:

    This is a great article!!! Thanks for sharing.

  5. Natalie Says:

    The article was very interesting and I would totally love to see the film. I think we always knew there was a sleazy side to modeling, but its great to see an actual model come forward about it. That story she tells about the 16 year old girl being sexually assaulted by a photographer is pretty horrible. It reminds me of a scene in Towelhead, which was not a great film, but had some interesting elements. Anyway, if you manage to get it screened at the library that would be pretty amazing!!

    • Fashion INTEL Says:

      Yeah, I totally agree about the sleaze but I cannot believe I just didn’t figure out how bad it was sooner. Thank goodness that girl made the film, and a former model no less. I think she’s studying at Columbia right now. She could join our rank of academic elitists – I only made that joke in regards to our facebook conversation yesterday. haha. I was curious about Towelhead, I am sorry to hear that it was bad. Is it even worth seeing? I’m really going to investigate where I can get this movie screened!

  6. Natalie Says:

    Towelhead is worth a watch in my opinion. Alan Ball, who also wrote American Beauty, wrote and directed it. It’s not a bad movie by any means, I just think it’s hard to make a film involving pedophilia and child abuse that doesn’t end up coming off preachy, as this one did in parts.

Leave a Reply

