Mi Vida LOCA

vidaloca1

vidaloca2

vidaloca3

vidaloca4

Mi Vida Loca finally made it to number 1 in my Netflix queue and I finally got to watch the film from start to finish – it’s only taken me 15 years!  I really wanted to see it when it first came out, but seeing that I was 10 years old, my parents didn’t find it appropriate.  There was something that always drew me to the film and that was the fashion.  And that it was written and directed by a woman.  Even as a young girl those details were important to me.

Back to the film’s fashion.  Chola culture and style has always impressed me.  Long before Gwen Stefani hijacked the look, there were chicanas all over Los Angeles rocking half shirts, white cotton tees, gaudy gold necklaces, and black, black and more black.  Can you say Alexander Wang?  Here some of the best screen caps accompanied with Alexander Wang’s Spring lookbook.  The colors and the feel made me think of so much what is coming out now.  Everything pictured from the film could be replicated via American Apparel [pink dress] , Erin Wasson x RVCA [tight black skirt] and Alexander Wang [stretch lace dress].  I recommend that you try and hit up your local thrift store for that 90’s fashion that has quickly squeezed itself back into our lives.

Tags: , , , , ,

6 Responses to “Mi Vida LOCA”

  1. Phuong Says:

    i really want that A wang dress on the bottom. too bad its liek 1000 dollars and i wont look nearly as good in it as kanye’s woman

  2. sg Says:

    t h e 9 0 ‘ s !!! seems like just yesterday for me!

    • Fashion INTEL Says:

      Or last Sunday in that amazing dress. You looked HOT! I went out and bought it the next day. Thanks for the tip. See you at the wedding….eeeeeeeeeeeee! xo NJ

  3. Angel McClinton Says:

    Thanks for the fashion props and TIPS! Never thought about the impact Cholas had on style. Great job mixin the images. Allison Anders is making a sequel so we’ll see what inspiration can be gained this time around.

    Angel
    aka Sadgirl =)

Leave a Reply

