Big Sur Style

fi022009

As I mentioned earlier this week, my boyfriend and I went to Big Sur to celebrate our five year anniversary, Valentine’s Day, and being alive.  If you have never been, please go now!  They’re waiting for you. I promise.  I am so glad that I packed my warm and comfy Philip Lim coat because it was quite rainy and chilly up in Big Sur.  Other important items in my suitcase included 2 hats, some pants, and a pair of tennis shoes.  I had arrived wearing my Sigerson Morrison rubber flats, but they soon proved to be impractical as we were constantly walking up inclines in the rain.  At least they were rubber – that’s why I brought them!

[items I’ve suggested above: Stella McCartney Yoga Mat – $150, Philip Lim Double-Breasted Jacket – $179, F21 Thelma Fringe Boots – $34.80, Stella McCartney Menari Shoes – $98, and the squirrel is wearing a Urban Outfitters Slouchy Ribbed Beanie – $19.99]

I cannot even begin to tell you how amazing Big Sur is!  Take a look at my photos and that’s proof enough.  Jonathan Adler thinks it is so great that he made a BIG SUR candle – it is one of his favorite destinations in the world!  I’ve already ordered it from barneys.com to remind me of our wonderful time.  In addition to the great beaches, hikes and townspeople, Big Sur also has a fascinating literary history.  This place inspired Henry Miller to make it his home for 20 years, Jack Kerouac to write a novel entitled Big Sur, and Hunter S. Thompson even spent time as a security guard at Esalen.

We stayed at the Glen Oaks Big Sur and I’d recommend it to anyone who loves fireplaces and heated stone floors in their bathroom.  I’d also love to stay at the Post Ranch Inn.  I am already planning our next trip there because I cannot wait to return.  If you need any recommendations for lodging, food, or fun just ask the Fashion Intel.

bigsur5

bigsur9

bigsur1
Our lodge was rustic + modern

bigsur11
The Henry Miller Library

bigsur7
Elephant seals!

MORE PHOTOS AFTER THE BREAK

bigsur10

bigsur6

bigsur2

bigsur3

bigsur12

Tags: , , , , , ,

15 Responses to “Big Sur Style”

  1. fashionintelligentsia Says:

    Stephie O Says:
    February 20, 2009 at 2:10 AM edit

    About Big Sur fashion-
    Some of the most amazing uncontrived ideas seem to come from the folks who are lucky enough to reside in those magical hills.
    I try to make it up every Spring, and have found on the highway, a lady who sells wrap skirts made from old glitter material she finds throughout the year, plus some yarn she collected from the 60’s. 10 bucks.
    No two are alike, she makes them with love and gives you tea and chats you up as she sells you her wares…which are beautiful and amazing. You wont see her stuff in any LA or SF boutique because she as a designer wants to keep it a part of Big Sur culture.
    Amazing…just like the natural beauty, people up there are like no other people in the world.

  2. Phuong Says:

    wow. amazing. i must go after my April NY trip. I’m ebaying some of my clothes to pay for the flight. hahaha.

  3. fashionintelligentsia Says:

    I had no idea you were going to NY! How fun. Lets talk this weekend – I want to hear all about it. ❤

  4. sg Says:

    i have never understood the west coast vs. east coast debate- clearly, hands down, hands up, the west coast is the best coast.

  5. J Lacroix Says:

    I love it…. Did you take the FIrst one? I always loved big sur….. where did you stay?

  6. fashionintelligentsia Says:

    SG – I couldn’t agree with you more. In California we have the mountains, ocean, desert, snow, rain, sunshine all the time, Big Sur, Palm Springs +++++ I could go on forever. There is no competition. I’ve been to almost every state now and have lived in NY – there is no comparison to California’s beauty.

    Jason – I took all of the photos. We stayed at the Glen Oaks Big Sur. I posted a link about it in the entry … so read the entire post and you’ll see it. I hope to see you soon!

  7. Diabolina Says:

    westide 4 life

  8. t. Says:

    ahhhh how fun! thanks for inspiring me to get my butt out there 🙂

  9. Noelle Says:

    wow, looks so relaxing. must try and go sometime soon!

    • fashionintelligentsia Says:

      I haven’t seen you in so long Noelle! I am glad you’re still reading. Go to Big Sur as soon as you can! ❤

  10. Tanya Says:

    Yay! Big Sur is absolutely amazing, as is the Carmel/Monterey/Pacific Grove area. That’s why I got married there! If you ever stay up that way and have a little money to spend, stay at the Centrella Inn in Pacific Grove – the people who run it are fantastic, it’s two blocks from the water, and the food is delicious.

    • fashionintelligentsia Says:

      Thanks for reading Tanya! Next time I see you I would love to hear all about your wedding. It already sounds amazing! Thanks for those great tips.

  11. Kristi Martel Says:

    Hi there, I love your story about Big Sur. I personally am a fan of the Big Sur Bakery as well, and in fact am writing a story about the Big Sur Bakery for a little motorcycle magazine called Accelerate. Could you email me to discuss the possibility of using your great photo in the article? Thanks!

    Kristi Martel

Leave a Reply

