A Grey Day at LACMA

fi011009

What a lovely day at LACMA!  My boyfriend and I had purchased tickets for the screening & book signing for the film Grey Gardens, with one of the filmmakers, Albert Maysles.  As some of you may know, Grey Gardens is my favorite film of all time, and for many years at that.  I might even post one of my Little Edie Beale costumes one day!  I absolutely loved seeing it on the big screen.  A big thanks to Liz Goldwyn who curated this screening and persuaded Maysles to sit down for a q&a.  Liz also appears to be an eccentric, and for that she goes on my list of cool ladies in L.A.  Her heels were great too.

Since we were already at the museum, we finally went and saw the Vanity Fair portraits exhibit.  Though photography wasn’t allowed, I still managed to capture this photo of Susan Sontag, one of my favorite authors and culture critic ever.  When I reach a certain age – which will be a long time from now – I will wear my hair in the Sontag style.  Since I already own plenty of black, I don’t have to worry about the wardrobe.

Any time I visit a museum there is a mandatory stop in the gift store.  Not too many items caught my eye at the LACMA shop, but I did manage to see an incredible necklace [pictured].  Without touching it, the material is mysterious, but once you grab it, you are surprised to discover that it’s made of rubber-bands.  This sounds like a project for 2009.  I’ve also got a project for you – visit your local museum and museum store in 2009!

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “A Grey Day at LACMA”

  1. Phuong Says:

    whoa. I’m totally digging the rubberband idea!!

  2. Little Red Book Says:

    That must have been amazing! Grey Gardens is one of my all time faves.

Leave a Reply

