Yves Saint Laurent in Retrospect

010609

As I promised, here are my photos from the Yves Saint Laurent exhibit at the de Young Museum in San Francisco.  Photographs were strictly prohibited inside the exhibit, but I had to capture a few to remember this amazing retrospective.  I’m pretty slick, and went unnoticed.

[Top] The welcome photo at the entrance into the exhibit.

[Top Left] This sheer dress was my favorite garment in the entire exhibit.  It was made of chiffon with an ostrich feather bottom.  I also loved that gold snake belt as an accoutrement.  Something I learned from the exhibit, which I might have been in denial of – I LOVE FEATHERS!   [Top Right]  This was another feathered dress, with a scale-like dress behind it.  They were both behind a large glass wall, but their beauty was evident.

[Lower Left] The Mondrian dress.  You know it, you probably love it, now see it in person.  In fact, there were numerous dresses in the exhibit that showcased YSL’s admiration for the arts.  [Lower Right] This one’s for you Stefani!  This woven wedding dress was prominent right in the center of the exhibit.  I cannot believe I got this great shot!  As soon as I saw it, I thought of you.  I hope you love it as much as I do.

Do something great in 2009 – visit your local museum and become a member!  Cannot afford that?  Drop them a $5 donation.  Every bit counts, trust me.

Tags: , , , ,

7 Responses to “Yves Saint Laurent in Retrospect”

  1. Noelle Says:

    The exhibit looks beautiful…extremely jealous!

    • fashionintelligentsia Says:

      It was absolutely gorgeous! Thanks for reading Noelle – maybe you can make it up to SF in the new year! ❤

  2. Diabolina Says:

    thanks for the glimpse! that ribbed condom white outfit is amazing 😉

    my friend also went to the exhibit – check her blog – las angelenas.

    • fashionintelligentsia Says:

      Aw, thanks for sharing your friend’s blog. It looks super cool and I love all her food photography. It looks like her and I like some of the same places!

      Any other good blogs you read?

  3. sg Says:

    i do love that knit cocoon!

  4. Little Red Book Says:

    Amazing!

  5. gayskeleton Says:

    Anything “see through” equals = My Favorite.

Leave a Reply

