The Week in Photos

fi122908

Since you know that the Fashion Intel is back after a morose December, there is no better time then now to show you what I have been up to this week.  Last weekend we had a lovely trip to the desert, where we stayed at The Parker Palm Springs.  I’ve said this before – they have the best orange juice at Norma’s!  It tastes just like when my grandparents brought me fresh squeezed from their own trees.  The Jonathan Adler decor is amazing, especially his ceramics and photography choices in the rooms.  Carol Channing overlooking our toilet was amazing.  We played a round of croquet, sipped cocktails at the lemonade stand, and simply enjoyed the cold desert air.  The snow capped mountains were also a lovely sight to see.  If you’re going to stay in one place in Palm Springs, chose The Parker, if not only for the Hermes soap in the room.

While in the desert, I picked up this amazing 3.1 Phillip Lim short coat [pictured right].  I’ve already got some good wear and compliments from it, so it was absolutely worth the investment.

After the holiday, my mother, sister and I decided to check out the remolded Macy*s in Pasadena because my mom bought me some Calvin Klein’s in the wrong size.  She knew she did, but she thought if I had something physical to open on Christmas, it would be more fun.  Can I just say that Calvin Klein has some on the softest cotton, next to The Row of course.  While browsing, I fell in love with this Marc by Marc Jacobs coat [pictured left], but I knew my mom wasn’t going to throw down $558 right after Christmas, er, ever.

On Friday I had a few hours of free time in the SGV, so I called up Phuong and we hit up Target and Lee’s for Vietnamese coffee [yummy!]  The Target in Alhambra always puts out its Go International early, so I thought we could check it out for the new Thakoon installment.  What do you know, we were in luck!  I picked up that lovely dress and floral coat, all gifts of mother when I showed her the receipt.  What a Friday night, topped off with $15 Chinese massage.

Last but certainly not least, is my favorite new piece of jewelry [pictured right].  This amazing piece was given to me by the amazing Stefani Greenwood for Christmas.  It’s made of pyrite, and has magical powers that will aid in my cardiovascular system.  Who couldn’t use that?  I’ve been wearing it everywhere and everyone wants to know where I got it.  One of a kind.  I think her and I should make jewelry together in 2009.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

7 Responses to “The Week in Photos”

  1. Diabolina Says:

    Love the necklace and the thakoon scores. I’ve been a bit lazy about picking anything up. think i am holding out for the mcqueen stuff 😉

    • fashionintelligentsia Says:

      I am also quite excited about the MCQ! The Thakoon that I picked up are the only 2 pieces from the collection that I’d buy, and I was very satisfied. The bikini is also nice – if I buy it, it will be my inspiration for 2009!

      Thanks for reading. I am so glad to be back, and also to start reading all my lovelies’ blogs again too!

  2. sarah Says:

    I still have my Hermes soap stashed away in a bathroom drawer– awaiting the proper vacation to break out my lux travel soap! I love the Parker!

  3. sg Says:

    anytime my dear, anytime. i have some ideas!!

  4. Phuong Says:

    The philip lim coat is SOOO cute and it looked so great on you I’m almost mad at you.

  5. gayskeleton Says:

    The Parker rules! Best OJ ever man!

  6. New to the CLOSET « Fashion Intelligentsia’s Weblog Says:

    […] might remember from a post I made in December [read here] about a Marc by Marc Jacobs tiger print trench that I was just dying to have.  Well die no more […]

Leave a Reply

