Oooh, Baby Baby

fi111008
Love It! Black sweater, charm bracelet, and ribbon headband

Last night I finally jump-started my Netflix viewing again.  I’ve had Baby Doll in my apartment since 05.14.08, which means that it’s just shy of a 6 month anniversary at The Garland Estate.  I am so glad that I finally watched it as the film was not only superb but offered a stylish young girl named Baby Doll.

I am currently reading a Street Car Named Desire by Tennessee Williams in my “Gay Literature pre-Stonewall” class [UCLA] so I had an idea that I would be watching that would be considered “edgy” as most of his work at the time was considered so.  It was nearly banned in 1956 and if you’ve seen it, there is no question as to why.  Most impressive for me was the spectacular Baby Doll who was naive but witty, young but womanly, poor but absolutely stylish.

baby2

baby3

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

