In Thrift I Trust

In case you had not heard, the United States has fallen into an economic apocalypse.  It would inappropriate for me to not address those circumstances considering many of the high priced items featured on this blog.  Nonetheless, one cannot throw their love for fashion out the window simply because of hard times, but maybe they could throw their shrinking wallet towards a thrift store.

I have been thrifting since the age of 2.  For twenty one years I always had the same thrifting partner – my grandma.  As much as I’d love to write about her, I cannot as it is too difficult considering she hasn’t been well lately and I’ll simply cry.  In fact, I haven’t thrifted much lately because it reminds me too much of her.  I know she would hate that, so I have been trying to get out and do what she taught me best – thrift!  She and I were crazed, and I have never met anyone else who could go all day thrift store to thrift store like my grandma Tillie.  Too be honest, I sometimes tire my boyfriend out and he is also an experienced thrifter.

If money is tight or your dying for some one of a kind pieces, I advise you to support your local thrift store.  Make a donation while your at it.  I recently gave away a couple of Marc Jacobs pieces and I am so excited for the person who finds them.  Keep your eye out for my Fashion Big Sisters program!

Here is what I’ve got this past month: Chloé mustard cropped jacket with gold buttons, St. John by Marie Gray striped gold and black skirt, and a Christian Dior purple jungle print scarf.  All VINTAGE.

Can someone tell me what year the Chloé is from?  Lagerfeld?

Tags: , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “In Thrift I Trust”

  1. Fashion News » Blog Archive » In Thrift I Trust Says:

    […] fashionintelligentsia created an interesting post today on In Thrift I TrustHere’s a short outline […]

  2. Diabolina Says:

    Kisses to your grandma. Try not to shy away from something you loved and shared with her. It’s a good way to honor your relationship and her influence on you 🙂

    Send me your favorite thrifting places please 🙂 I imagine you much tinier than me so I won’t steal the pieces meant for you!

  3. sg Says:

    you have the gift! those are really fantastic pieces!

  4. cassie Says:

    don’t forget about consignment too! at the closet in boston sales are split 50/50 and checks go out every month. it’s a great way to clean out your closet and make a little something back.

  5. gayskeleton Says:

    Very sentimental post.

Leave a Reply

