Organics to Go

Stella

This Memorial Day weekend gave me some time to clean out my closet, but most importantly time to relax. Of course I had the opportunity to watch the flat screen, and I managed to catch a movie on HBO entitled I Am An Animal: The Story of Ingrid Newkirk and PETA. No doubt this movie left me in an awful depression, but the next day I had some more time to reflect and came up with even more options to make my life more animal and Earth friendly.

Eco-Chic is not merely a trend to the fashion intelligentsia, but a necessity in living the most sustainable life possible.  I had a fabulous course at U.C.L.A. called “Gender and the Environment” and it absolutely blew my mind on how to live.  Since then, our home has become a chic recycling center, our food is always organic/local free of GMOS, our designer duds are given to local thrift shops, and don’t even get me started on my magazine carousel!  BUT WHAT ABOUT THE ANIMALS?  This film tapped into information I had already gathered as a member of Amnesty International and a former vegetarian, but it left me feeling like I had to do more.  Watch, and you’ll undoubtedly feel the same.

Of course when I am sustainable, I ensure that I remain fashionable.  With this in mind, I have vowed to forever support the glorious luxury goods given to us by Stella McCartney.  Even if my $500 Raffia sandals from Spring 07 have fallen apart under minimal wear, I trudge forward because the truth is Stella is unbelievably cool.  I can forget my tattered soles because I still love Stella the fragrance, her line for Adidas, and am a recent convert to her skin care line (thanks for the samples Barneys!)  Up next, the yoga mat, which I’ll be carrying all around downtown.

What will you do to make a difference?

From Top L to R: Adidas by Stella McCartney Yoga Mat $85, Stella McCartney Days-of-the-Week Panties $195.00, Stella Parfum Spray $86, Stella McCartney Hannah Flat $495.00, Stella Care 5 Benefits Moisturizing Cream $76

Tags: , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Organics to Go”

  1. martine Says:

    I watched that movie at the Holiday Inn in South Beach!

  2. yeti9000 Says:

    Mmmm…organic days-of-the-week panties…HOT!

  3. Sedu Beauty Tips Skin Care Womens Perfume Says:

    Sedu Beauty Tips Skin Care Womens Perfume…

    I didn’t agree with you first, but last paragraph makes sense for me…

  4. beautymakeupdivas.com Says:

    very informative post.

Leave a Reply

