Fashion Doppelganger: Marc Jacobs & F21

Fashion Doppelganger

“Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery.” (Charles Caleb, 1820) Did you know those words were meant to be ironic? Attempting to gain attention by copying another’s original ideas didn’t bode well with Caleb, and it doesn’t with the fashion intelligentsia. On display are some examples of the simply inspired and obviously mimicked. I’d always rather buy the original because “fakes are never in fashion” and if the item is out of reach, I simply say c’est la vie.

On a browse through Forever 21, a dangling design caught the corner of my eye. I focused on this bag before me and gasped – I have this at home! I spotted the doppelgänger of my favorite Marc by Marc Jacobs bag from 2006. Surely this wasn’t going to be the only evil twin in this store.

  1. Marc by Marc Jacobs, Alessandra Pussy Bow Dress – $428
  2. Forever 21, Mod Shift Dress – $24.80
  3. Marc by Marc Jacobs Chalk Stripe Denim Faridah, Spring 2006
  4. Forever 21, Nautical Canvas Tote – $22.80

Do not forget the philosophy of simulacrum and know that everything is a replica of something else.

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “Fashion Doppelganger: Marc Jacobs & F21”

  1. elizabeth Says:

    doppelgangers on april fools?
    how à propos for the occasion!

  2. yeti9000 Says:

    Hey, I’ve still got a few Molotov cocktails in my trunk from the writer’s strike if you wanna go burn down some Forever 21 stores!

Leave a Reply

