History Lesson : DVF

 DVF

“Our strength has nothing to do with the fact that we can’t look good or have good legs, strength is something entirely independent. Sometimes, when people hear the word ‘feminist’, they think that means looking down on the idea of being feminine, but you can be feminine and feminist. But I do believe in the strength of women and I do believe that women can save the world.” (DVF, The Independent)

If you were on fashion Jeopardy and you were asked – who invented the wrap dress – being part of the fashion intelligentsia, you wouldn’t even have to think twice before you blurted out Diane von FĂĽrstenberg! But if you were asked which designer studied economics at university or which fabulous Greek decedent is the daughter of a holocaust survivor, would you know the answer? It would also be DVF.

Born in 1946 and even hotter than ever, DVF says “I obviously don’t feel under pressure to look young, because I have had no Botox or surgery. I don’t judge people who choose to have it, but I don’t want to erase who I am.” Gems of wisdom and wit simply exude from this alluring woman. It is no wonder that she is the acting president of The Council of Fashion Designers of America (CFDA).

I used to think that DVF’s collections were a bit too mature for my taste, but I always find each season at least one beautiful and comfortable dress I want to hang in my closet. Even if she isn’t your cup of tea, you must admit her hues are breathtaking. She is to be admired not only for her longevity but sharp tongue as well. Watch her Spring 2008 show, and notice a more diverse runway. To that she says “I would like to see more black models and women from different ethnic backgrounds, but I also think that when you are casting, you just choose the most beautiful girl you can find.”

Tags: ,

5 Responses to “History Lesson : DVF”

  1. Stephanie Says:

    Great post about DVF. Not many people know how fascinating she is beyond her design work. I’d like to contact you, can you please send me an email.

  2. martine Says:

    oh DVF! I love your blog. Gone for a week, and who knew such gems awaited me.

  3. fashionintelligentsia Says:

    Merci beaucoup Martine! I hope your teeth are feeling better these days & I look forward to seeing you by the pool this summer.

  4. Sarah Says:

    I think I’ve begun to judge my maturity level (AKA old-ness) on how many DVF items I pine after… is that wrong?? Believe me, the numbers are growing.

  5. fashionintelligentsia Says:

    Don’t deny your love for DVF, let it grow!

Leave a Reply

