OCCULT POP

rihannaoccult1

rihannaoccult3

rihannaoccult2

I have yet to get my hands on Mitch Horowitz’s Occult America because my library’s funding has been cut drastically, and the esoteric are the first to be ignored.  Fortunately I did get a chance to hear Mitch speak on Jay-Z and the Occult via NPR which proved to be quite interesting.  There’s been a lot of attention lately to Jay-Z’s supposed connection to the Occult and Freemasonry, and I have to say it makes life much more interesting.  It also explains a lot to me – he’s obviously put me under a spell because I’ve never liked his music very much but the Blueprint 3 is great.  For the record, I’m A Tribe Called Quest kind of girl.

So why the pictures of Rihanna? Because I LOVE her style and oh yeah, you can see a scary face  in her back in that last photo.  Remember when she wasn’t cool and singing songs like SOS?  She has come a long way since playing at the Los Angeles County Fair.  For reals.  I’d have to say her “good girl gone bad” look has put her on my best dressed list of 2009.  What a difference the Occult can make.

Learn more about Jay-Z, Rihanna, and the Occult here (NPR).

Tags: , , , ,

One Response to “OCCULT POP”

  1. sg Says:

    these images are pretty rad!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

