NO CONTROL

calvinkleinad

I was with some friends at a gallery over the weekend and we got to talking about Mackenzie Phillips’ new book. Her story mentions how her father wanted them to runaway and raise her sister Bijou Phillips as their own. I’ve always been fascinated with Bijou as I thought she was beautiful, out of control, and had a mind of her own. Her acting and music left something to be desired but nonetheless as someone who is addicted to SVU so was I fascinated with why she was the way she was. A lot of questions were answered this weekend when someone linked an old interview with Bijou in the Jezebel reader comments.

I was quite young when the infamous Calvin Klein ads were shown on TV, but I knew even then how weird they made me feel. I understand now what the aim of the ads were, but I’m not going to make excuses and call it “edgy.” Bijou was 14 when she starred in one of the ads and her comments really struck me. Does any one else find it disturbing that children work in the fashion industry unsupervised?

BIJOU: Yeah, and he was asking these questions like [in a creepy voice], “What do you like about your Calvin Kleins? How do they make you feel?”…
BIJOU: And then he goes, “What would it take to get your jeans off?” I mean, I was like fourteen. I’d been flown in from boarding school to do this. So I said, “If I had to take a shower? If I had to go to the bathroom?”
BRUCE: [laughing] What would it take to get your jeans off! How sweet! But it felt creepy, right?
BIJOU: It felt dirty and wrong.

Read the rest of the interview here. & watch the Calvin Klein ads here.

Tags: , , , , ,

4 Responses to “NO CONTROL”

  1. yeti9000 Says:

    Yikes…I don’t think I’d ever actually seen these commercials all the way through. Soooo creepy! Yuck!

  2. Halie Says:

    You might want to read the book “A Model Summer” which is a novel about a 15 year old girl who becomes a model. It’s written by Paulina Porizkova (sp?), so I’m pretty sure she knows what she’s talking about, unfortunately.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

